Server comparison
Enter your need as a workload or as technical values; technically equivalent rack servers from Dell, HPE and Lenovo and the licence counts appear side by side. Prices are not shown and no brand is picked.
What you enter is not stored and is not sent anywhere; the calculation runs in your browser.
Loading data…
About the server comparison tool
What does this tool do?
You enter your need as a workload (for example 40 virtual machines) or directly as technical values (cores, memory, disks). The tool shows technically equivalent rack servers from Dell, HPE and Lenovo and the licence counts you will need, side by side.
It shows no prices and picks no brand. The aim is to pin the need down in numbers before you ask for offers, and to arrive prepared for the clauses of the specification.
Which workloads can be sized?
Virtualization (VMware, Microsoft Hyper-V, Proxmox), remote desktop (RDS/AVD), backup (Veeam, Commvault), databases (SQL Server, Oracle) and OpenShift are sized; or you can enter the technical values yourself instead of a workload. The number of servers, processor cores, memory and disk space follow from the load, with a reserve (failure tolerance) so that work continues if a server fails.
How are licence counts worked out?
Licence counts follow the published rules of the software companies:
- VMware: at least 16 cores are licensed per processor.
- Windows Server Standard and Datacenter: at least 8 cores per processor and 16 per server; a Standard licence covers 2 virtual machines.
- SQL Server: at least 4 core licences per virtual machine.
- Oracle: core factor 0.5 on x86 processors.
- Proxmox: 1 subscription per populated socket.
- OpenShift: subscriptions per core pair (2 cores) or per physical server.
Where does the data come from?
The data is entered by hand from the documents of the manufacturers and software companies. It currently holds 22 server models (Dell 7, HPE 7, Lenovo 8), 99 processors and 90 calculation rules. Every value carries a link to its document and the document's date. A rule without a source document is shown on screen and in the report with an "assumption" label (2 rules at present). A value that a model's document does not state is shown as "not stated in the document" and is not counted as met; the tool is not released while a model value is unverified. The newest document is dated October 2026. The sources are checked every three months.
Frequently asked questions
Does the tool show prices?
No. It gives a technical comparison and licence counts only. For prices you need to ask for offers.
Does it recommend a brand?
No. Dell, HPE and Lenovo always appear in the same order; there is no score or ranking. The tool shows only the models that meet the need and the differences that touch it.
Is the information I enter stored?
No. The calculation runs in your browser; what you enter is not sent anywhere and not stored.
Does it use artificial intelligence?
No. The calculation follows rules taken from the documents; every step and the source of every rule can be seen on screen.
How do I use the result?
You can print the result as a management report or download the specification clauses as a Word file (public sector or private sector style). Check the values against the current manufacturer documents when offers arrive.